Pasta with Butter and Sage

This has to be the easiest, quickest recipe I’ve ever done. It so so basic I wasn’t going to even post it.

My daughter came back from her Nutcracker performance and was ravaged. She said she needed pasta and didn’t want to wait for what I had planned. Being a Sunday and close to Christmas I couldn’t agree more.

Pasta is not one of my strong points. I did list in my index that in the book Essentials of Classic Cooking, there are a bunch of pasta ideas on pages 150-206.  So many in fact I didn’t bother listing them in my index unless they really stood out.

Hitting page 150 in Marcella Hazan’s book, I started flipping pages. Nothing was talking to me until I saw sage.

We had sage last night and has some left over, why let it go to waste. Wait a sec, this sauce is only butter and sage. It just didn’t register. Head scratcher. Well, she is Marcela.

I decided to give it a go. Veggies? No worries. It’s going to be one of those nights .

The recipe was quick, beyond easy, and surprisingly good.  We were all part of the clean plate club.

3 1/2 stars.  Will do again in a pinch and it hits the spot. Fresh ground pepper and parmigiano-reggiano is a must. The sage does add a nice twist to the pasta flavor.

From Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking – Marcella Hazan

img_2096
Pasta (Cavatappi) in Butter and Sage Sauce

 

Leave a Reply

