Cod with Shitake – Green Bean Saute and Garlic, Lemon, Parsley Sauce. 

Well, sometime you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of this dish. I did like how clean it was but the garlic, lemon, parsley sauce was a little flat with not much depth.

I used canned fish stock, Bar Harbor Brand Fish Stock to be exact, so that may be the culprit…but for a home cook, I hope Eric Ripert is not expecting us to knock out a fish fumet. If I do this recipe again, I’ll try it with clam juice as the base for the stock and see how that goes.

Though I would not do this recipe again, both daughters liked and ate the Cod while my wife gave it four stars and would like to have it again.

Great technique for cooking the Cod and timing.

I always try to cook fish outside the house on the BBQ. It was one of those big paradigm shifts with us. No more stinky house from cooking fish inside.

We love to cook fish now and the girls dig it.

From Le Bernardin Cookbook – Eric Ripert

Leave a Reply

