Going back to Bali, Bali…Pork Satay

I love Bali and Indonesia. I have only been once, in 2001, but it was a stellar experience and a culinary one too.  Of course I didn’t realize it at the time. I was there to surf, but you can only surf for two to three hours before your ready to dig into some grinds while you’re in a new country and looking for some comfort.

Bali and Indonesia was a whole new realm for me.  Street vendors, scents and sounds, herbs and curry. Fish and Bintangs. Food is such a part of the journey.  Deny that and your selling yourself short.

This recipe brought me back for a bit, the sixth sense, hunger and memory.

Pork Satay from Staff Meals Cookbook – from Chanterelle Restaurant – Waltuck – 4 stars

Peanut sauce from San Diego’s famous Saffron Thai Restaurant. 4 stars

Bok Choy with Miso from Cooks Illustrated – 2 stars – not sure I’d do again but good use of the last tbls of yellow miso on hand.

Leave a Reply

