4 Stars · Duck

Duck’N Apples

I dig a double entendre here and there. 🙂

I have no idea where this recipe came from, but I have to pat myself on the shoulder for seeing the possibilities and ripping it out of somewhere.

What got me at first was the Carroway Seed. Do I need to go on an expedition to find Carroway Seeds?  Because us men like to do some shopping especially when we throw in the esoteric.

Alas, I’ve already been down that path and had it in the cupboard from the last sojourn and needed quest to the market.

Apples was the second ringer. I love apples and have a “Gordon” apple tree on the yard. It was one of the first fruit trees I planted at my house and the only “OG” still standing.  The window that an apple tree produces is so finite that I’m amazed at the western luxury of year round production that we have at our disposal. My apple tree is sadly barren at this time, but the branches have beauty in its own right.

I went big at the market at bought honey crisp apples at $3.99 a pound.  They just called to me from my cultivating veins.  $4.19 for two apples :). I walked out with each in a palm. Our new corner market thinks their Whole Foods.

Long Grain Rice. I have no idea what it is but I like it and for some reason attribute it duck. Yes, it came out of a box with a seasoning packet. Trolley on the front. You get the idea. Someday I hope to forgo the box but I’m not quite there yet.

So the skin of the duck stuck to the pan. Presentation not possible. I hate a deflation in cooking, everything is supposed to be perfect.  That’s what makes it so real, and frustrating at times.

Carroway, Apple and Duck.  We loved it.  No ducking involved.

4 stars.

Leave a Reply

