3 Stars · Joel Robuchon · Julia and Jacques Cooking at Home · Julia Child · Pork Chops · The Complete Robuchon · Winter Dish

Julia’s Sauteed Pork Chops with Robuchon cumin orange glazed carrots. 

This recipe from Julia grabbed my attention with the mention of Chutney. I love Chutney and it’s just so rare for me to come across. Chutney is not exactly a staple in San Diego for that matter.

Though I didn’t have Chutney this evening, I did have some excellent Golden Plum Preserves we have been enjoying on the morning toast. I thought pork and plum would go hand in hand…of course for which it does.

I really enjoyed the cooking method and the pork came out beautifully. First you sear the pork on both sides then add white wine and a beef stock. Finish in a covered pan on a simmer and then reduce the sauce. It took just a tad longer to get to 140 degrees. No problem.

What was a bit of a problem was Julia’s herb rub. It lent its flavor to a late fall winter style of a pork dish. If it was November, we would have been stoked. Being June and heading into summer…hmmm…all we could think of was how good it would be in cooler weather.

I will tweak the rub accordingly to the season. My first lesson in seasonality. 🙂  The plum preserves were great with the pork. Julia does have an amazing pork roast spice rub in her Mastering the Art of French Cooking that I will use in this recipe during the warmer months.

3 1/2 stars for Julia’s Sauteed Pork Chops from Julia and Jacques Cooking at Home. Julia Child and Jacques Pepin.

Now on to Robuchon’s Melting Carrots with Cumin. I’m giving this recipe 2 stars. The reason being is that I just don’t think I’m a fan of cumin and orange together. This seems to be a popular combination of late but it’s just a bit too overpowering for me.  There were a lot of spices going on with the pork rub and then the carrots. Too much.

This carrot recipe does lean towards a fall winter dish to me as well. Maybe I’m just in the wrong season to enjoy the flavors? It also takes a bit longer to reduce than stated.

Melting Carrots with Cumin. From The Complete Robuchon – 2 stars.

Leave a Reply

